Notes allow for adding annotations and additional information to a network or group. In contrast to the
Comment module, notes are immediately visible and readable. The default color of notes can be set in the Preferences, see Section 4.3.7, “Preferences — Network Appearance”.
Notes can be created via the network context menu.
Click Create Note and create a new note item by entering a title and a comment. The width of the note title defines the minimum width of the note in the display. Note titles do not have to be unique, so there can be more than one note with the same title. Note comments are not limited in size. If the full note text cannot be displayed, three dots (“…”) are displayed to signal that more text is available. Text with more complex formatting (bold, lists, etc.) may be pasted into the note editor but the formatting will be lost. Instead one can use the formatting options also available for the help editor as described in Section 26.9.2, “Formatting”.
Since notes do not offer scrolling, it is recommended to adjust the note size and/or the amount of information so that all note text is visible at once. Otherwise, it may be necessary to resize the note or go via Edit Text to read all text.
The formatting of the text also changes slighly while zooming the network because of dynamic font alignment, therefore as a rule-of-thumb you should make the note slightly bigger than needed for the current zoom level.
Notes can be scripted, see the Scripting Reference, MLABNoteItem.
Notes can be collapsed/expanded by clicking the minus/plus buttons (/) or by double-clicking the note title.
Notes can be resized by dragging the resize icon at the lower right ().
A note can be edited or deleted via the context menu of its title bar.
Double-click the text area to edit the note. For further note-related shortcuts, see Section 4.3.10, “Preferences — Shortcuts”.
Allows editing the note title and comment.
Allows editing the color of the note. This has no effect on the default color which is set in the Preferences, see Section 4.3.7, “Preferences — Network Appearance”.
Draw As Comment (toggle)
If this option is active, the note is displayed without title and without a surrounding box, directly on the network background.
Deletes the note. Can be undone/redone.
Notes can also be assigned or removed from groups just like modules (see above, Section 3.11, “Using Groups”). The bounding box of the group is adjusted accordingly. Notes in a group will be moved with the group; notes in general can be moved anywhere in the workspace.
© 2023 MeVis Medical Solutions AG